NYPD Transit Bureau Memorial Mass

Our Lady of Mount Carmel Church in Brooklyn held a memorial mass honoring NYPD Transit Bureau officers who died in the line of duty. NYPD executives, members of the Transit Bureau, and loved ones gathered to remember those who made the ultimate sacrifice. The names of 36 fallen officers were read during the mass as attendees prayed for their families. All of the most recent officers being recognized died due to illnesses contracted while working at Ground Zero.

Police Commissioner James O’Neill and Chief of Transit Joseph Fox spoke during the solemn ceremony. Police Commissioner O’Neill reminded those in attendance that this mass is part of a continued promise by the Department to never forget:

“These heroes have left a tremendous legacy and it is our duty to build on it. We honor them by continuing their vital work and by fulfilling our promise to them and to their families: that they will be a part of our police family forever.”

Every name represents someone who died in defense of our city and in defense of our way of life. Our Lady of Mount Carmel clergy members prayed for the safety of all law enforcement officers and for peace for those who lost their loved ones.

The following officers were honored:

  • Ptl. John Tuohy 03/20/1963
  • Ptl. Lloyd Innes 06/16/1967
  • PO Michael Melchiona 02/28/1970
  • PO John Skagen 06/28/1972
  • PO Sidney Thompson 06/05/1973
  • Det. George Caccavele 06/26/1976
  • PO Carlos King 12/20/1976
  • PO Seraphin Calabrese 02/24/1980
  • PO Irving Smith 02/29/1980
  • PO Joseph Keegan 06/19/1980
  • PO Joseph Hamperian 09/22/1983
  • PO Irma Lozada 09/21/1984
  • PO Robert Venable 09/22/1987
  • PO Edward Byrne 02/26/1988
  • PO Ramon Suarez 09/11/2001
  • PO Mark J. Ellis 09/11/2001
  • PO Moira Smith 09/11/2001
  • Lt. Robert Rice 04/12/2003
  • Det. Thomas Weiner, Jr 05/03/2005
  • PO James McNaughton 08/02/2005
  • Det. James Zadroga 01/05/2006
  • PO Deon Taylor 10/23/2008
  • PO Robert Zane 05/12/2009
  • PO Richard Jakubowsky 06/07/2009
  • Capt. Barry Galfano 06/26/2011
  • Det. Fermin Archer 07/13/2011
  • PO Peter Rodriguez 02/12/2012
  • PO Richard G. Holland 03/23/2012
  • Sgt. Donald O’Leary 03/26/2014
  • Insp. James Guida 11/02/2014
  • PO Robert Kaminski 12/04/2014
  • Sgt. Charles Gunzelman 05/31/2015
  • Lt. Luis Lopez 06/26/2015
  • PO Alexander Figueroa 07/07/2015
  • Lt. Rebecca Buck 07/21/2015
  • Sgt. Edmund Murray 07/28/2015